Sherlock Holmes: The Peculiar Persecution of John Vincent HardenSherlock Holmes: The Peculiar Persecution of John Vincent Harden by Dan Andriacco
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Not like original ACD. but this portion of introduction is interesting :

Monsignor Knox lists eleven elements of a canonical Sherlock Holmes story. A Study in Scarlet has all eleven elements, and most stories in the Canon have at least five. Those elements are: 1. A homely Baker Street scene to start, with invaluable personal touches and sometimes a demonstration by the detective or reference by either Holmes or Watson to an untold tale of Sherlock Holmes; 2. The client’s statement of the case;3. Energetic personal investigation by Holmes and Watson, often including the famous floor-walk on hands and knees;4. Refutation by Holmes of the Scotland Yard theory; 5. A few stray hints to the police, which they never adopt;6. Holmes tells the true course of the case to Dr. Watson as he sees it, but is sometimes wrong;7. Questioning of the victim’s relatives, dependents, and others, along with visits to the Records Office, and various investigations in disguise;8. The criminal is caught or exposed;9. The criminal confesses; 10. Holmes describes the clues and how he followed them;11. The conclusion, often involving a quotation from some standard author.

View all my reviews

Popular posts from this blog

Interview of Radhika Nathan author of “A time to Burnish”

My worst nightmare

Lean In To Relationships